COMPTEL appoints 13 new board members, changes logo

COMPTEL, the trade association for the competitive telecom industry, has elected 13 companies to serve on its Board of Directors for the 2011-2013 term.

Elected during this week's COMPTEL PLUS Spring 2011 Convention & EXPO in Las Vegas, these newly elected board members join the 12 others who are currently serving their 2010-2012 terms.

One of the biggest changes COMPTEL made to its board of directors was appointing Dale Schmick, chief strategy officer at YourTel America Inc., as its chairman. Schmick takes over from Joe Ambersley, a founding officer of PAETEC Communications (Nasdaq: PAET), who served two consecutive terms as organization's chairman.

The COMPTEL board also re-elected Julia Strow, co-founder of Cbeyond Inc. (Nasdaq: CBEY) as vice chairman; and Jim Butman, group president of Marketing, Sales and Customer Operations at TDS Metrocom (NYSE: TDS) as the association's treasurer.

Four at large COMPTEL members rounded out the executive committee: Dan Boynton, president and CEO of Zone Telecom Inc.; J. Sherman Henderson III, president and CEO of Lightyear Network Solutions LLC (OTC BB: LYNS.OB); Deborah Ward, CEO of TSI; and Jerry Watts, vice president of Government and Industry Affairs at EarthLink (Nasdaq: ELNK).

In related news, COMPTEL, which just celebrated 30 years as a competitive organization, changed its logo.

Initially launched in 1981 as a way to foster competition in the then-nascent long distance voice industry segment, COMPTEL President and CEO Jerry James said that "the association has continued to evolve, in order to ensure competition develops to other aspects of the industry--from local telephony to Internet access to broadband."

For more:
- see the release
- here's the anniversary release

Related articles:
COMPTEL appoints new board members
Comptel 2010: Competitive providers, wholesalers find new identities