Integra adopts common Ethernet network architecture

Integra is giving its customers a common Ethernet foundation for the services it delivers to its business customer base by upgrading its network to deliver Ethernet over what it says is a single architecture.

Through its Ubiquitous Access Ethernet architecture, Integra is standardizing Ethernet access delivery from the service provider's network to the customer premise. A key benefit for customers, particularly those with multiple locations or those using multiple Ethernet services, is rapid service deployment.  

Ubiquitous Access will serve as a common network architecture to deliver its suite of Ethernet services, including SIP Trunking, Hosted Voice Services, VPN services, Layer 2 networks, Internet access and business continuity services.

Ethernet services will be delivered through its dominant delivery methods: Ethernet over Fiber (EoF), Ethernet over Copper (EoC), while legacy T1 customers can migrate to EoTDM or to a partner's Ethernet network to network interconnection (NNI) point.

EoC continues to be a big focus for the CLEC. In February, Integra announced that it expanded Ethernet over Copper (EoC) network to another 43 fiber-fed ILEC Local Serving Offices (LSOs), enabling it to reach more than 460,000 businesses in over 140,000 commercial buildings.

Besides offering greater access to its services, Integra has engineered its access architecture to eliminate single points of failure, while offering necessary service level agreements (SLAs).

Available to current and new customers today, the end-to-end Ethernet architecture leverages the investments that the CLEC began 2011 with a $52 million initial investment.

For more:
- see the release

Special report: The Contenders: Dark fiber providers add a new layer of flavor on the network cake

Related articles:
Integra EoC footprint surpasses 460,000 businesses
Integra soups up Western U.S. 100G fiber reach, adds Salt Lake City to Sacramento route
Integra becomes qualified voice, data service vendor for California's CALNET 3 program