TechAmerica names Verizon's McAdam as Packard award recipient

Because he's been instrumental in "erasing the line between telecommunications and technology," Verizon (NYSE: VZ) CEO Lowell McAdam has been named the 55th recipient of TechAmerica's David Packard Medal of Achievement Award.

Lowell McAdam, Verizon

McAdam (Image source: Verizon)

The award, to be presented Nov. 7 by an organization that bills itself as "the leading U.S. technology trade association," recognizes "significant contributions to the advancement of the high-tech industry for distinguished service to the community, the industry and humankind," the organization said today in a press release.

In announcing the award, Shawn Osborne, president-CEO of TechAmerica cited McAdam's efforts in both wireless and wireline technology while blurring the distinctions between telecommunications and technology.

"His career has been dedicated to revolutionizing the global wireless industry while leading Verizon's foray into emerging technologies like M2M, telematics and smart sensors, all of which continue to transform our daily lives," Osborn said in the press release.

McAdam joins a list of previous winners who include 2012 recipient Linksys co-founder Reid Hoffman, William Hewlett and David Package of Hewlett Packard (NYSE: HPQ), Ross Perot of Electronic Data Systems, Thomas Watson Jr. of IBM (NYSE: IBM), Intel's (Nasdaq: INTC) Gordon More, Paul Otellini and Andrew Grove, and John Thompson of Symantec.

McAdam said the award reflected Verizon's focus "to grow our business while using our world-class technology to improve the lives of our customers," citing as examples the carrier's 4G LTE, fiber and global backbone networks that combined "address some of the world's biggest challenges in health care, sustainability and education."

For more:
- TechAmerica issued this press release

Related articles:
Verizon to introduce 500 Mbps FiOS for $310 per month
Verizon's wireline consumer revenue rises to $3.6 billion on strong FiOS adds
Discovering the 15 highest-paid leaders in wireline telecom

Suggested Articles

Ciena, Internet2 and Juniper Networks announced they have provisioned live traffic over a 1,367-mile circuit using a 400-gigabit Ethernet link.

Verizon Business is shielding its private IP networks by embedding a software-defined perimeter service to create a zero trust architecture.

Sprint teamed up with Ooma to deploy its new Omni phone business phone service that targets small-to-medium-sized businesses (SMBs).