USTelecom names ACS’ Vadapalli as board chair

Washington, D.C.
Following a long career in the the telecom industry, Vadapalli joined ACS in 2006 and became its CEO in 2011.

US Telecom has refreshed its board leadership ranks, naming Alaska Communications Systems President and CEO Anand Vadapalli as the new chair of the association’s board of directors.

Anand Vadapalli

Following a long career in the the telecom industry, Vadapalli joined ACS in 2006 and became its CEO in 2011.

Alaska Communications is a provider of broadband and managed-IT services for business and consumers in Alaska, operating an advanced statewide data network that is connected to the contiguous U.S. via an undersea fiber cable system.


Like this story? Subscribe to FierceTelecom!

The Telecom industry is an ever-changing world where big ideas come along daily. Our subscribers rely on FierceTelecom as their must-read source for the latest news, analysis and data on the intersection of telecom and media. Sign up today to get telecom news and updates delivered to your inbox and read on the go.
Bob Udell, CEO of Consolidated Communications, will serve as vice chair of the USTelecom board.

RELATED: Incompas, USTelecom clash over broadband speed calculations

Meanwhile, Darby McCarty, president and CEO of Smithville Communications, will continue to serve as secretary and John Jones, senior vice president of Public Policy/Government Relations at CenturyLink, will serve as treasurer.

Russell “Rusty” Moore, general manager and COO of Big Bend Telephone Company, was elected chair of USTelecom’s Leadership Committee, which is comprised of executives from small-to-medium sized companies. Jason Williams, president and CEO of Blackfoot Telecommunications Group, will serve as vice chair of the Leadership Committee and Arne “Skip” Haynes, chairman of Rainier Connect, will serve as the secretary.

Rusty Moore, Jason Williams and Pioneer Telephone Cooperative General Manager Richard Ruhl are new to USTelecom’s Board of Directors. Members returning to the board are Robert Hunt, vice president of Regulatory Affairs and Business Operations at GVTC, Jack Keen, CEO and chairman of the board at WNM Communications, and Scott Barber, president and CEO of Hawaiian Telcom.

These leadership changes come as USTelecom looks to the FCC and other policymakers on such issues as broadband speeds, net neutrality and business data services reform.

Suggested Articles

Expect a full dose of Kubernetes at next week's VMworld conference in San Francisco, according to VMware CEO Pat Gelsinger.

If there is indeed a global recession in the offing, no one has told the top cloud and colocation providers.

On the same day as its second quarter earnings, VMware announced it's buying Carbon Black and Pivotal for a combined value of $4.8 billion.